New Package Artwork Released For “Green Lantern: The Animated Series” DVD Title

Warner Home Video has provided a look at the back package artwork for the upcoming Green Lantern: The Animated Series – Season One, Part One: Rise of the Red Lanterns two-disc DVD release. The upcoming DVD collection, featuring the first 13 episodes from the first season of the acclaimed CG-animated series, hits shelves August 28th, 2012 and will retail for the MSRP of $19.97. Click on the image below for a closer look at the package art. Press details provided by the studio are also below.

Synopsis: Green Lantern is back in DC’s radiant, all-new CGI animated series! Sworn to protect, the Green Lantern Corps patrols the galaxy fighting evil. But in the farthest reaches of deep space where few Lanterns patrol, a new evil is rising – the Red Lanterns! Atrocitus and his henchmen, Zilius Zox and Razer, will stop at nothing to gain revenge on The Guardians of the Universe. Upon learning of this news, Hal Jordan and fellow Lantern Kilowog defy the Guardians and board a new experimental spacecraft, the Interceptor, and race to the Guardian Frontier to face the evil Red Lanterns head-on! Tune in to this groundbreaking new series, and see if the Green Lantern Corps can stop this ominous threat – the Rise of the Red Lanterns!

Beware My Power…Green Lantern’s Light (Part One), Beware My Power…Green Lantern’s Light (Part Two), Razer’s Edge, Ghost in the Machine, Heir Apparent, Lost Planet, Reckoning, Nothing to Fear, …In Love and War, Regime Change, Flight Club, Invasion, Homecoming

The above content can also be viewed here.

The two-disc Green Lantern: The Animated Series – Season One, Part One: Rise of the Red Lanterns DVD release from Warner Home Video will hit shelves August 28th, 2012, and will retail for $19.97 MSRP. More details on Green Lantern: The Animated Series can be found at the The World’s Finest subsite. Stay tuned for further updates here soon at The World’s Finest.

Discuss this in The DC Animation Forum!

Follow The World’s Finest on


  1. E.D.

    Part 1? It looks like all 13 episodes of Season 1 are there. Was there something missing, or was Season 1 on hiatus all this time?

  2. Yojimbo

    The initial order for the series was 26 episodes. Some consider this to be a 26 episode season. This is why this set is marketed as Part 1, or the first 13 episodes.

    Others in the industry, like the producers often referred to it as two 13 episode seasons because each has a season long arc. The first arc being the Red Lanterns.

    It does tend to get confusing, yes. So it depends on how you look at it, we’re either in a mid season hiatus or awaiting a second season.

    1. E.D.

      Okay. Thanks for clearing that up.

Leave a Reply